what works and what doesn't?!

Various topics, technical questions, announcements, events, resorts, ...

Moderators: fivat, rilliet, Arnaud, nils

A carver from Holland
Rank 3
Rank 3

what works and what doesn't?!

Post by A carver from Holland » Tuesday 1 October 2002, 8:34

Hi J&P,

I have checked out your website several times (including the movies ofcourse). Big compliment! The information is very clear and direct...

I have been snowboarding for over 8 years now (also used to be an instructor). I am now at the point that i control all techniques, and therefore have no more challenge in my snowboarding, until i visited your website!!!!

I have question: i am currently riding a Nitro CAM (167cm with a radius of about 7m) with Burton Ice boots (great boots because of the back spring and many adjustments) and F2 race titanium (intec). I have a small toelift and a heellift (including lateral canting). I have not had the chance to put your technique into practice (going to Tignes in a few months). I also ride a Thiais Skwal Carve 173. Is it possible to use your technique on the Nitro and also the Skwal? As you may know, the binding angle of the skwal is like 88/85. Do you have experience with riding this kind of hybride?

Many thanks for your reply and keep up the good work! It's a bummer not many people carve these days...

Greetz,

Arjan

rilliet
Swoard & EC founder
Swoard & EC founder

Post by rilliet » Tuesday 1 October 2002, 10:26

Hi Arjan,

Thank you for the "Big compliment!" :D

Our push pull technique can be used with any gliding gear: snowboard, skis, skwal, skateboard, rollerblade, surf, etc...

But laying down turns need adapted Equipment.
The board must be able to carve verticaly on the edge.

The 7m radius of your Nitro is already a strong handicap.
High feet angulation that obstructs full and fluid legs movements too.
Canting is not good, because during the EC turn, the board is so much bent, that it makes the canting by itself.