beginner progression

Various topics, technical questions, announcements, events, resorts, ...

Moderators: fivat, rilliet, Arnaud, nils

jason_watkins
Rank 3
Rank 3

beginner progression

Post by jason_watkins » Friday 3 January 2003, 5:15

I'm just starting out, and reading old posts on freecarve ran into someone advising not to start learning carving with push pull turns. I'm curious what the thought here on that would be. While I can't even carve a turkey at the moment, push pull turns seem a more understandable motion. The cern site reccomends starting with extension carves, and JM reccomends doing the norm (static carves).

So, for a total beginner who's just now learned to do basic sliding turns without counter-rotation, what would you reccomend trying to best learn carving?

Normally I like to figure things out in my own way, but since I'm eager to progress quickly this season, thought I'd get some input and leverage the experience of those wiser than me ;P. Also, using softboot equipment with my large feet necessitates low angles and a wide board... annother reason I'd like the point of view here.

I'm on a donek wide 161 with a 26cm waist. Stance is just a touch wider than 19", angles of 30 and 20.

rilliet
Swoard & EC founder
Swoard & EC founder

Post by rilliet » Friday 10 January 2003, 9:22

Hi Jason,

Sorry for the delay, but we are very busy here with our boards production and website.

To beginners, I teach first the rotation without any vertical motion (See the basic turns videos in the tech pages).
Then when the rider can do it correctly I show the push-pull turn.

I must say that teachers here usually show first, what is called "cross-over" technique. But as we said, we think that push-pull is much more efficient in bad conditions.
It is also more difficult, especially when people are already used to cross-over technique.